Dark Was The Night

On Monday, Gideon Coe (6Music) played ‘So Far Around the Bend’, a great new song by The National. It’s taken from Dark Was The Night, a new double-disc compilation curated and produced by National brothers Aaron and Bryce Dessner. It also features contributions from fellow Brooklynites Grizzly Bear and Yeasayer, as well as Feist, Ben Gibbard of Death Cab For Cutie, My Morning Jacket and many more of your favourite indie rock stars, including several collaborations.

It’s released on 4AD on 16th February and is in aid of Red Hot, an AIDS charity that utilises media and culture to raise awareness and encourage discussion of the issues surrounding it, as well as generating funds for research into the condition.

The tracklisting in full:

Disc One:

  1. “Knotty Pine” – Dirty Projectors + David Byrne
  2. “Cello Song” – The Books featuring Jose Gonzalez
  3. “Train Song” – Feist and Ben Gibbard
  4. “Brackett, WI” – Bon Iver
  5. “Deep Blue Sea” – Grizzly Bear
  6. “So Far Around The Bend” – The National
  7. “Tightrope” – Yeasayer
  8. “Feeling Good” – My Brightest Diamond
  9. “Dark Was The Night” – Kronos Quartet
  10. “I Was Young When I Left Home” – Antony with Bryce Dessner
  11. “Big Red Machine” – Justin Vernon + Aaron Dessner
  12. “Sleepless” – The Decemberists
  13. “Die” – Iron & Wine
  14. “Service Bell” – Grizzly Bear + Feist
  15. “You Are The Blood” – Sufjan Stevens

Disc Two:

  1. “Well-Alright” – Spoon
  2. “Lenin” – Arcade Fire
  3. “Mimizan” – Beirut
  4. “El Caporal” – My Morning Jacket
  5. “Inspiration Information” – Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings
  6. “With A Girl Like You” – Dave Sitek
  7. “Blood Pt. 2” – Buck 65 Remix (featuring Sufjan Stevens and Serengeti)
  8. “Hey, Snow White” – The New Pornographers
  9. “Gentle Hour” – Yo La Tengo
  10. “Amazing Grace” – Cat Power
  11. “Happiness” – Riceboy Sleeps
  12. “Another Saturday” – Stuart Murdoch
  13. “The Giant Of Illinois” – Andrew Bird
  14. “Lua” – Conor Oberst with Gillian Welch
  15. “When The Road Runs Out” – Blonde Redhead & Devastations
  16. “Love Vs. Porn” – Kevin Drew

It looks set to be one of the most exciting compilations in quite some time and it’s for a good cause. What more could you ask for?

Also, 4AD released a free digital sampler in December, featuring some of the most acclaimed artists of ’08. There’s a song by Colour alumni It Hugs Back on there, who Katie profiled in November. In return for all this free goodness, they’re asking for nothing more than your email address!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dark Was The Night

  1. Richard says:

    this looks awesome, thanks for the heads up

  2. Pingback: Dark Was The Night « @ Number 71

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s